JURY 2019

Image Image

Laure MURET, completed her training at the Opéra de Paris dance school and joined the corps de ballet at the age of 17. In 1992, she was promoted to Sujet. As a Soloist, she dances the ballets of Rudolf Nureyev, the great classics of the repertoire as well as the ballets of Serge Lifar, George Balanchine and the title role of La Petite Danseuse by Degas choregraphed by Patrice Bart… She performed in national and international dance galas. Developing a keen interest in pedagogy and transmission, she prepared, in addition to her career as a dancer, her second career as a teacher. She obtained her State Diploma as a dance teacher in 2004, then her Certificate of Aptitude in 2008. She left the stage of the Opera in 2012. For ten years, she has assisted Kader Belarbi as a coach and assistant-choreographer. She stage directed the third act of La Bayadère by Rudolf Nureyev for the Capitol Ballet.

Image Image

Elisabeth MAURIN, admitted at the age of 9 at the Opéra de Paris dance school, she was then engaged at the age of sixteen in the corps de ballet where Rosella Hightower entrusted her with her first roles as Soloist in Don Quixote (choreography by Rudolf Nureyev) in 1981, the Blue Bird variation in Sleeping Beauty in 1982. In 1983, she became Sujet and Rudolf Nureyev asked her to be his partner in Giselle at the Vienna State Opera. In 1984, Élisabeth Maurin won first prize at the Osaka International Competition with Manuel Legris. Named Soloist in 1985, she danced contemporary creations. She was named Etoile of the Opéra national de Paris on December 23, 1988, in the role of Clara on the set of the Nutcracker for French Television. In the 1990’s, she turned to teaching. On June 29, 2005, Élisabeth Maurin made her official farewell to the stage, in the role of Juliette from the Romeo and Juliette (Prokofiev) by Rudolf Nureyev, alongside Benjamin Pech. From 2005 to 2008, Elisabeth Maurin taught at the Opéra de Paris dance school. Since then, she has been in charge of lessons and rehearsals with the corps de ballet of the Opéra national de Paris.

Image Image

Carlos VALCARCEL, following an illustrious performing career where he danced principal roles with Victor Ullate Ballet, Balletto di Toscana and Stuttgart Ballet, he became Director and principal teacher of his own ballet school in Madrid before joining the Showa School for Performing Arts in Tokyo. At the Showa School, he was the Principal Tutor and Lecturer of the Ballet Department. He later joined The Washington School of Ballet, teaching, mentoring and choreographing students and dancers from the company as Ballet Master of the Trainee Program at The Washington School of Ballet. Carlos Valcárcel has also been credited with coaching principal ballerinas and has served as a judge of international ballet competitions. He has also choreographed pieces and coached participants for elite competitions. He joined the English National Ballet School in October 2017 as Director of Dance, from Ballet Arizona where he had been Director of its School since 2011.  Mr Valcárcel is enthusiastically committed to preparing the next generation of young professional dancers for their careers.

Image Image

Roman MIKHALEV, was trained at the Vaganova Ballet School in Saint Petersburg, he was hired by the Mussorgsky National Opera Ballet in Saint-Petersburg. He became Soloist of the Opéra National de Bordeaux during 2005. In July 2012, he was named Etoile and danced notably the choreographies of Charles Jude. He performed the major roles of classical ballets in Coppélia, Don Quixote, The Nutcracker, Giselle or even Swan Lake. He danced the first roles in Petrouchka and Le Spectre de la rose by Michel Fokine, Le Sacre du printemps by Léonide Massine, Suite en blanc and L’Après-midi d'un Faune by Serge Lifar. He also took part in the creations of Thierry Malandain, Carlotta Ikéda, Anthony Egéa and Pneuma by Carolyn Carlson and has been assistant ballet master for Blanche Neige by Angelin Preljocaj. He made his official farewell to the stage on May 31, 2019 by performing the ballet Quatre Tendances.

Image Image

Clotilde VAYER, entered the Opéra de Paris dance school in 1969, she joined the corps de ballet in 1976 and in 1978 won the gold medal at the Varna International Competition. She worked with the greatest choreographers such as Kenneth Mac Milan, Anthony Tudor, Maurice Béjart, Merce Cuningham, William Forsythe, Georges Balanchine, Jérôme Robbins and John Neumeier. Promoted Soloist in 1984, she participated in major productions of the Opéra national de Paris and abroad. She also has often been asked to interpret roles allowing her to express her dramatic talents. In 1996, at the request of Brigitte Lefevre, she collaborated for the rehearsals as an assistant Ballet Master. She was appointed Ballet Master the following year. Since then, she has worked on the ballets of the repertoire and participated in several creations for the Opéra national de Paris.

Image Image

Françoise DUBUC, was trained by Marika Besobrasova in Monte-Carlo, she began her career at the Het Nationale Ballet in Amsterdam then at the Ballet Théâtre Français in Nancy where she was named Soloist and danced alongside Rudolf Nureyev for three seasons. In 1986, she left the Nancy Ballet to found the Company Temps Present with Thierry Malandain, then created her own dance school in Pau, where she taught for eight years. In 1998, at the opening of the National Choreographic Center in Biarritz, she joined Thierry Malandain as responsible for raising awareness among young people. As of today, Françoise DUBUC is a Ballet Mistress at the Malandain Ballet Biarritz and is also responsible for reassembling Thierry Malandain's ballets in professional companies in France and abroad.

JURY 2019

Image Image

Laure MURET, effectue toute sa formation à l’École de danse de l’Opéra de Paris et intègre, à 17 ans, le corps de ballet. En 1992, elle y est promue Sujet. Elle danse en tant que Soliste les ballets de Rudolf Noureev, les grands classiques du répertoire ainsi que les ballets de Serge Lifar, George Balanchine et le rôle-titre de La Petite Danseuse de Degas de Patrice Bart… Elle se produit dans des galas de danse nationaux et internationaux. Développant un vif intérêt pour la pédagogie et la transmission, elle prépare, parallèlement à sa carrière de danseuse interprète, sa deuxième carrière en tant que professeur. Elle obtient son Diplôme d’État de professeur de danse en 2004, puis son Certificat d’Aptitude en 2008. Elle quitte la scène de l’Opéra en 2012. Depuis une dizaine d’années, elle assiste Kader Belarbi en tant que répétitrice et assistante-chorégraphe. Elle remonte entre autres le troisième acte de La Bayadère de Rudolf Noureev pour le Ballet du Capitole.

Image Image

Elisabeth MAURIN, admise à 9 ans à l'École de danse de l'Opéra de Paris, elle est engagée à l'âge de 16 ans dans le corps de ballet où Rosella Hightower lui confie ses premiers rôles de soliste : Cupidon dans Don Quichotte (chorégraphie de Rudolf Noureev) en 1981, l'Oiseau bleu dans la Belle au bois dormant en 1982. En 1983, elle devient Sujet et Rudolf Noureev lui demande d'être son partenaire à Giselle à l'Opéra d'État de Vienne. En 1984, Élisabeth Maurin remporte le premier prix du Concours international d'Osaka avec Manuel Legris. Nommée Première Danseuse en 1985, elle se met ensuite au service de créations contemporaines. Elle a été nommée Étoile de l'Opéra national de Paris le 23 décembre 1988, dans le rôle de Clara sur le tournage du Casse-Noisette pour la télévision française. Dans les années 1990, elle se tourne vers l'enseignement de la danse. Le 29 juin 2005, Élisabeth Maurin fait ses adieux officiels à la scène, dans le rôle de Juliette du Roméo et Juliette de Rudolf Noureev, aux côtés de Benjamin Pech. De 2005 à 2008, Elisabeth Maurin a enseigné à l'école de danse de l'Opéra de Paris. Depuis, elle est chargée des cours et des répétitions du corps de ballet de l'Opéra national de Paris.

Image Image

Carlos VALCARCEL, après une illustre carrière de danseur dans des rôles principaux avec le Ballet Victor Ullate, le Balletto di Toscana et le Ballet de Stuttgart, il est devenu directeur et professeur principal de sa propre école de ballet à Madrid avant de rejoindre la Showa School for Performing Arts à Tokyo en tant que principal tuteur et conférencier du département de ballet. Il a ensuite rejoint la Washington School of Ballet, encadrant des étudiants et des danseurs de la compagnie et chorégraphiant en tant que Maître de ballet. Carlos Valcárcel a également été reconnu comme professeur émérite en révélant et en formant de grandes danseuses et danseurs que ce soit lors de Master Class ou en étant juge de compétitions internationales de danse classique. Il a également chorégraphié de nombreux ballets. En 2011, il devient directeur de l’école de l’Arizona State Ballet. Il rejoint l’English National Ballet School en octobre 2017 en tant que directeur de la danse. M. Valcárcel s'est engagé avec enthousiasme à préparer la prochaine génération de jeunes danseurs professionnels à leur carrière.

Image Image

Roman MIKHALEV, a été formé à l’École de Ballet Vaganova de Saint-Pétersbourg, il est engagé par le Ballet de l’Opéra National Moussorgski de Saint-Pétersbourg. Il devient Soliste du Ballet de l’Opéra National de Bordeaux au cours de l’année 2005. En juillet 2012, il est nommé Étoile et danse notamment les chorégraphies de Charles Jude. Il interprète les grands rôles des ballets classiques dans Coppélia, Don Quichotte, Casse-Noisette, Giselle ou encore le Lac des Cygnes. Il danse les rôles-titres dans Petrouchka et Le Spectre de la rose de Michel Fokine, Le Sacre du printemps de Léonide Massine, Suite en blanc et L’Après-midi d’un Faune de Serge Lifar. Il participe également aux créations de Thierry Malandain, de Carlotta Ikéda, d’Anthony Egéa et Pneuma de Carolyn Carlson et est assistant Maître de ballet pour Blanche Neige de Angelin Preljocaj. Il fait ses adieux à la scène le 31 mai 2019 en interprétant le ballet Quatre Tendances.

Image Image

Clotilde VAYER, est entrée à l’École de danse de l’Opéra de Paris en 1969, elle est engagée dans le corps de ballet en 1976 et en 1978 remporte la médaille d’or au Concours international de Varna. Elle travaille avec les plus grands chorégraphes Kenneth Mac Milan, Anthony Tudor, Maurice Béjart, Merce Cuningham, William Forsythe, Georges Balanchine, Jérôme Robbins, John Neumeier. Promue Première Danseuse en 1984, elle participe aux grandes productions de l’Opéra national de Paris et à l’étranger. Elle est également souvent sollicitée pour interpréter les rôles de caractère lui permettant d’exprimer ses talents dramatiques. En 1996, à la demande de Brigitte Lefevre, elle collabore aux répétitions. Assistante Maitre de ballet en 1998, elle est nommée Maitre de ballet l’année suivante. Depuis, elle remonte les ballets du répertoire et participe aux créations de l’Opéra national de Paris.

Image Image

Françoise DUBUC, a été formée par Marika Besobrasova à Monte-Carlo, elle commence sa carrière au Het Nationale Ballet d’Amsterdam puis au Ballet Théâtre Français de Nancy où elle est nommée Soliste et dansera aux côtés de Rudolf Noureev durant trois saisons. En 1986, elle quitte le Ballet de Nancy pour fonder la Compagnie Temps Présent avec Thierry Malandain, puis crée par la suite sa propre école de danse à Pau, où elle enseigne pendant huit ans. En 1998, à l’ouverture du Centre Chorégraphique National de Biarritz, elle rejoint Thierry Malandain en tant que responsable de la sensibilisation auprès du jeune public. Aujourd'hui, Maîtresse de ballet au Malandain Ballet Biarritz, elle est également chargée de remonter les ballets de Thierry Malandain dans les compagnies professionnelles en France et à l’étranger.